Tags

,

marica new pic 2

Gospel recording artist Marica Chisolm tells us about her music and album, Simply Worship, and she gives advice to aspiring music artists.

I started singing when…

I was 2 years old… now was it good? Probably not. My grandparents have pictures of me singing at the age of 2, standing on a chair in church singing my heart out.

My music is…

A journey through praise and worship…from beginning to end. Heartfelt, intimate and life changing and words that come to mind… I think that my relationship with the Lord is portrayed in Simply Worship. You won’t be able to listen to it and not be moved to at least lift your hands and thank God for being who He is!

The inspiration behind Simply Worship…

 I wanted to create an album that from beginning to end could be sang at church and that would encompass different facets of worship all on one cd. It was difficult to find worship material as a worship leader that had more than 2-3 good songs that I could teach to my team and I wanted to create an album that a worship leader could present as a project to their team.

I love listening to music from…

Tasha Cobbs and Darius Paulk, Lecrae, Beverly Crawford, John P. Kee and Cece Winans

If I could collaborate with a another music artist…

Israel Houghton, Lecrae or Jesus Culture. They represent 3 different genres of gospel music but have great ministries that I respect greatly and it would be an honor to work with them each!

In 2014, I am looking forward to…

I’m looking forward to EVERY adventure that is in store…the good, the bad, the ugly and the indifferent! I’m excited about touring and worshipping with the people that support the ministry. I don’t take for granted people wanting to support me and I’m thankful for every ministry opportunity! I’m so honored that Tyscot Records has partnered with me to help spread the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Advice I would give to an aspiring gospel artist…

Pray, read your bible, make sure that this is what you have been called to and have a great team of people that will work with you. This artist walk can be a tedious journey but with God and keeping focused you can do it!! Don’t be afraid to step out on faith and conquer your fears!

Marica’s album, Simply Worship will be in stores everywhere on 1/28/2014. Listen to her single, “Hallelujah to the King” on The PeachPost Playlist

