Angela Donadio (8 of 15)

Angela Donadio is literally an artist on the rise. The singer, pastor, wife and mother of two, climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro a few years ago.  She has two albums This Journey and It’s a New Day.  Here, she talks to us about her mission work and what her days are like.

I started working on mission projects in Africa because…

God broke my heart for the people. My first trip was to Ghana, West Africa, for a Kids Camp. God connected me to pastors and pastor’s wives in deprived regions. I founded “Voice of the Voiceless” in 2008 which has helped to fund Kids Camps, church buildings, and micro-enterprise for pastor’s wives. It has been a privilege to speak at Women’s Conferences and minster in music through worship settings and a Crusade in Liberia with Reinhard Bonnke and Daniel Kolenda. God paved the way for me to travel and minister in Africa many times since that first trip, including Tanzania, Malawi, Liberia and Ghana. It’s also an honor to serve as a World Vision Artist and see lives changed due to child sponsorship. Our home church, River of Life Assemblies of God, will be launching our first church plant in Deboya, Northern Ghana in April of this year. In August I will be returning to Malawi and Tanzania to speak at the National Women’s Conference. God is so faithful when we choose obedience.

The most important thing that I have learned from my mission work is…          

To love people and serve them because Jesus loves and serves. I have shared many times with the beautiful people of Africa that the reason I serve is because of the love Jesus has put in my heart. When we love the things God loves, and He loves people, our actions will bear fruit. I’ve also learned how much my life has been transformed by knowing and serving the people I have had the privilege to meet. They enrich my life far more than I could ever hope to enrich theirs. Kingdom investment always yields the greatest return.

Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro was…

One of the most difficult and impacting experiences I have ever had. We climbed for 6 days, and I stopped at 15,000 feet due to severe altitude sickness. A defining moment was my last day of climbing, where I struggled with nausea, headache and elevated heart rate. A guide saw my plight and came over and got directly in front of me. He simply said, “Follow my steps; follow my pace”. He led me to the top of Barafu Camp, Base Camp of the 19,340 foot summit, where I had my own personal summit. I was reminded of Galatians 5 where we are instructed to “keep in step with the Spirit.” God spoke to me in many ways on that trip, reminding me of the importance of following His lead and finding shelter in His strong, capable arms.

In full-time ministry, each day is …

An adventure! I have served in full time ministry for 20 years alongside my husband, Dale, who is Lead Pastor of River of Life. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Music Education and am Ordained with the A/G. However, nothing fully prepares you for ministry. Ministry is both incredibly challenging and rewarding. I love leading people into a deeper relationship with the Lord through worship, and mentor other worship leaders. I also lead our “WOW – Women of Worth” ministry, and am passionate about seeing women know who they are in Christ. My life was transformed not only through the power of Jesus Christ, but also through health issues and two life-threatening illnesses. I have learned to live in a place of complete dependency on the Lord, and thank God for re-purposing my ruins for others’ growth.

In my downtime, I like to…

Spend time with my family. I have two teenagers, a girl and a boy, and they keep me busy! I’m involved in my daughter’s musical theater programs and my son’s wrestling and church activities. I journal, blog, and enjoy working out at the gym.

This year I expect to…

Take the next step in publishing a manuscript I recently completed called, “Living in Joy: Putting a New Lens on Your Perspective”. It is a Bible study on the book of Philippians encouraging women to live in joy in the midst of adversity. I am in the process of securing a publisher and hope to release it later this year or early 2015. I will be ministering throughout the US and Africa speaking and ministering in music.  I want my life to count for the kingdom!

Connect with Angela

Website | iTunesFacebookTwitter

Angela’s single, “Joy”, is playing on The PeachPost Playlist.  Listen now!

 
